Like Too Many Words

I.

So much

Comes bubbling out

Out open throat

Like too many words

Pressed beneath

A closed-off mouth

 

Below pursed lips, it

Hammers the lining

With knuckled verse

 

II.

She makes a heart

With some fingers

In it; a thumb

She can’t pull out

From the hand

Of another man;

The burning of IT

 

III.

The burning

Tickles my nose

Assaults my throat

Turns my stomach

Inside out

 

I can no longer gag

Not at the moment

I just grasp, try and

Catch my breath

And for once, keep a hold of it.

Leave a Reply

