Easy Virtue

Islington, London                               

 

“’Virtue is its own reward’ they say—

but ‘easy virtue’ is society’s reward for a slandered reputation.”

 

Golden curls unfurl

like fire and pain;

Mixed in-between the sheets

where teenagers learn to lust.

For all that I’ve learned:

Nothing compares to us.

 

In the war machine

that turns its wheels,

I’ve sorted through

my lost and found,

Till I found a worthy one.

 

A penny or a nickel to keep the crank going,

A shard or a blade to keep the heart pumping;

I’ve given enough, but here I release,

All the teenager that was left in me.

Leave a Reply

