My Fortunate Lungs

In porch lights, We arc, trace fingers

down stairs. Meet her at the bottom,

force hands apart, touch lips so fair,

She moans,

“Fortunate, my love.”

 

I pull her close and inhale, with

everything I’ve got,

My fortunate lungs:

they love her so much.

 

Something pure goes ashen,

a voice is drawn, under strain;

I can’t surface, tortured

in a fashion—

too low to see,

too dim to leave.

 

Our circle of pierced dark:

a porch light, a folded core

between fingers and palms

and into my mouth; the

fortune claimed, ashen,

a circle of withdrawn love,

taken back to wherever it

comes from, gone from

this porch stair, retreating

instead to the coldest bar,

drowning itself in the drinks

it finds there.

Leave a Reply

