Sometimes I Remember You

Sometimes

I stop doing whatever I’m doing,

drag my fingers through my life,

try to grab hold of that one moment

where my innocence became

hard along its edges.

Sometimes

I try and smooth out those lines;

I try and find myself at a purer time

and keep it that way for longer.

Sometimes

I try to keep love out of my life,

long enough to survive; I was just

too young to know what I was doing

with love to be any good at it.

Sometimes

I wish I hadn’t used those words, the

ones I had read about in my books

and heard in the lyrics of my favorite

songs…I spoke too soon—I loved too much.

Sometimes

I remember you.

Leave a Reply

