Stinger Words (I’m Sorry, Sarai)

tragedy on your breath

when you kissed my lips

I just held mine in

and kissed you full-back

 

Without regret

 

our tragedies mingle in the air

pollute our chances

 

We cross-pollinate

We breeze

 

taste on our leaves

under our knees

mornings after

the taste of your bed

my tongue

fingerprints

parts of us

near hips

 

We singe

 

kissing too close

to the heartbeats

 

We give

 

kiss my poem

clipped of its wings

can’t reach your fist

held tight and close

to read and love and devour

for every poem, there is an hour

pouring over words

chosen just for you

to take with you

hopefully it won’t be too long

before your words reach

my heart as well

 

Leave a Reply

