Too Dead (I Touched Something Tonight That Made Me Cry)

Set to music, I touched something tonight, something

Close to the memory of you, filling up on a cruise

Ship, with empty chairs, through glass, water spots

On frame, where things trapped are pushed between,

Smeared with whimsy, drained of bottle, thoughts

Of her, little fingers and limbs, perfect proportions

Of things, I thought back then, all I want now, never

Comes around, never calls back—so drinks on me,

Sadder than I think, an ability to feel, too new, so

Fresh, things are too old, too wise, and maybe, a bit

Too dead.

 

Leave a Reply

