Dirt Confessional

I spill my guts

quite enough, quite often

to others

when I drink

when I’m drunk

when I’m soft and…

 

I think I hate myself a lot,

maybe more than I should.

Maybe I lost my job.

Maybe I didn’t.

I’m not sure and…

 

Is it bad to dream

while complacent?

I wonder right now,

this minute, this second.

My life paused

at the best part of the song.

My ear close, held closer

to the heart of this ground,

to listen for what’s missing

and…

 

Maybe not care if it is.

 

Leave a Reply

