In a Hard, Sweet Way

I was there.

You don’t have to wonder.

I was right there.

Outside your heart.

 

That’s how the problems set in.

Outside your heart.

And that’s why

I’m not there now.

 

I wish I could say,

“I understood just why you needed me,”

but I can’t.  I can’t even say just why

I needed you.

 

In a hard, sweet way,

you needed me;

the ground be damned,

you needed me.

 

On my knees,

fetching you from

the broken glass,

you needed me.

 

So, I put a shard of you in the palm of my hand—

squeezed it tightly until you entered my bloodstream.

 

Maybe because

I needed you.

I like to make fists (sometimes)

and think so.

Leave a Reply

