Forever Bedroom

It’s been a few years (more than a few)

And every time I dream of you it’s like

A dare to keep giving a shit. From whom?

I don’t know but it’s there nonetheless.

This dare. Hanging and lit from above

In the forever bedroom of my mind.

It promises extended opportunities,

Years even, decades, when we still

Knew each other intimately, and

Nothing had changed, just my hair

Was gone and your skin was drawn

But otherwise the same. This dare.

It really has an imagination. And

A very long memory. And it beads

My flesh every time with sweat and

Regrets and longing and sadness. It

Dares me to remember you, to hold you

Secret somehow, as if it wasn’t already

Known: you’re still nestled away, hidden,

In the forever bedroom of my life.

Leave a Reply

